The Different Types of Lions

Author: | Posted in Fauna No comments

Types of Lions – Lions are a big cat species belonging towards the Felidae Family, and therefore are broadly classified as either African or Asian lions.

What Different Types Of Lions Are There?

10. Lions Of The World

The lion is really a big cat belonging towards the Panthera genus and family Felidae. The 2 main kinds of lions are African lions and Asian lions. The previous is a gaggle of seven extant lion subspecies inhabiting the African continent as the latter is really a single subspecies of lion residing in Asia.

The lion is that the second largest cat species following the tiger. Currently, wild lions are found in large elements of sub-Saharan Africa and India. Strangely, unlike other cat species, lions are highly social in nature and reside in large groups called pride consisting of several females, their offsprings, and a couple of adult males.

Lions are likely to prefer savanna and grassland habitats but they are also found in forests and bush. Lions are expert predators and scavengers and mainly nocturnal by nature. Wild lions survive for about 10 to 14 years while captive ones survive so long as 20 years.

9. West African Lion

The critically endangered West African lion as well as Senegal lion (Panthera leo senegalensis) inhabits western Africa coming from the Central African Republic to Senegal. The West African lion is that the smallest among the many sub-Saharan African lions. Only about 1,800 individuals remain as small and fragmented populations in West Africa.

8. Southwest African Lion

The Katanga lion as well as Southwest African lion (Panthera leo bleyenberghi) is found in southwestern Africa inside the countries of Angola, Zaire, western Zambia and Zimbabwe, Namibia, and northern Botswana.

These lions are perhaps one of the largest among the many all of the kinds of lions. Males attain lengths between 8.2 feet and 10.2 feet while females possess a length between 7.5 feet and 8.7 feet. Males weigh around 140–242 kg while females weigh about 105–170 kg. The Katanga lions possess a lighter colored manes than any other lion subspecies.

7. Barbary Lion

The barbary lions (Panthera leo leo) is likewise referred to as North African lion. This lion subspecies previously occurred in Egypt, Tunisia, Morocco, and Algeria. Currently, It‘s extinct inside the wild because of indiscriminate hunting. The final known wild Barbary lion was killed in 1920 in Morocco.

Today, some lions kept in captivity are believed to become descendants from the wild Barbary lions, particularly those residing inside the Rabat Zoo. The Barbary lion is among the largest subspecies of lion and individuals with lengths ranging between 9.8 feet and 10.8 feet, and weights of over 200 kg happen to be previously reported.

6. Masai Lion

The East African lion as well as Masai lion (Panthera leo nubica) is found in East Africa where it occurs inside the countries of Kenya, Ethiopia, Mozambique, and Tanzania. The Masai lions have less curved backs and longer legs than any other subspecies of lion. Moderate tufts of hair are present inside the knee joints of males. The manes from the Masai lion appear to become combed backwards, and older males have fuller manes compared to the younger ones.

Male Masai lions residing in highlands above 2,600 feet, and also have heavier manes than those living inside the lowland areas. Male Masai lions attain a length between 8.2 feet and 9.8 feet. Lionesses are smaller with length starting from 7.5 feet to 8.5 feet.

5. Ethiopian Lion

The Ethiopian lion as well as Abyssinian lion as well as Addis Ababa lion (Panthera leo roosevelti) is a kind of lion that though originally considered as being East African lion was classified like a separate subspecies after phenotypic and genotypic analysis on lions kept in captivity inside the Addis Ababa’s zoo. Ethiopian lions have darker manes and smaller bodies compared with other lion subspecies, however this could be also the results of residing in captivity.

4. Congo Lion

The Congo lion (Panthera leo azandica) as well as Uganda lion is a kind of lion subspecies that‘s based in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and elements of western Uganda. The subspecies happens to be extinct in Rwanda where it once existed. The lions are safe inside the Virunga National Park of DRC and Uganda’s Queen Elizabeth National Park.

3. Transvaal Lion

The Southeast African lion (Panthera leo krugeri), also referred to as Kalahari lion as well as Transvaal lion is based in the southern elements of Africa with significant populations in South Africa’s Kruger National Park and Swaziland’s Hlane Royal National Park. A lot of the males of the subspecies possess a black, well-developed mane. The length of males ranges between 8.5 feet and 10.5 feet while females attain a length between 7.7 feet and 9.0 feet. Male Kalahari lions possess a weight around 150–250 kg while females are 110–182 kg in weight.

2. Asiatic Lion

The Asiatic lion as well as Indian lion (Panthera leo persica) though once widespread from Turkey across Southwest Asia towards the Indian subcontinent, happens to be confined towards the Gir National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary inside the Indian state of Gujarat. Only about 523 of this sort of lion remain during this forest.

The Asiatic lion is smaller compared to the largest from the African lions but is similar in size towards the Central African lion. The load of adult male Asiatic lions ranges between 160 kg and 190 kg while that of females ranges from 110 kg to 120 kg. A longitudinal fold of skin running down the belly is that the striking morphological feature that helps inside the identification from the Asiatic lion.

The fur color from the Asiatic lion ranges from ruddy-tawny, buffish-gray or sandy to heavily speckled with black. The lions possess a moderate mane growth unlike the African subspecies, and the ears are constantly visible. The Asiatic lions also exhibit less genetic variation compared to the African subspecies. These lions are classified as endangered from the IUCN.

1. Lions Endangered

All of the kinds of lions mentioned above are threatened to variable extents. Hunting, especially unregulated trophy hunting practices are liable for the decline from the African subspecies of lions.

During trophy hunting (a practice where lions are hunted, and the body parts like the top can be found like a trophy towards the hunter) the dominant male lion from the pride is usually targeted for hunting since it‘s the largest and the majority valuable trophy towards the hunters.

The death from the dominant male disturbs the structure from the pride. Males from outside now invade the pride and kill from the progeny of former males. Thus, lion cubs are lost, which causes a lion population decline.

Besides hunting, habitat loss and habitat fragmentation also threaten the survival of kinds of lions around the globe. Sadly, the threats always exist regardless of the implementation of large-scale conservation efforts.

There‘s a greater need to make awareness in regards to the got to use lions among the general public from the countries inhabited from the lions in an effort to save this big cat species.

Add Your Comment